Navratri 0

The festival of Navratri is here now, starting on the 10th October 2018 and will end on 18th October 2018. The festival lasts for 9 nights and 10 days. 

Among the festivals of the Hindu tradition, Navratri is endowed with a great significance. It is the symbol of victory of good over evil. The nine-day festival culminates on the tenth day which is the day of victory and success, Vijayadashami.

The chief deity adorned on these days is the feminine principle of the divinity. Therefore, all the forms of Goddesses are heralded and worshiped on these days. Called as Shakti/Durga, the female energy represents the universe. Shakti is the ultimate source of power that feeds the universe. The Navratri festival glorifies the eternal power of Shakti and seeks her blessing and protection.

The word Durga also means the power which destroys misery and sufferings. A Sanskrit verse heralds Mother Durga as “Durga Dhurgati Nashini”, the one who destroys afflictions. Worshipping Mother Durga on these nine days is said to confer joy, prosperity, wealth, hope, wisdom, success and lasting happiness.

Each day is devoted to different forms of Goddess Durga and is denoted by nine colors. We tell you the 9 forms of the Goddess and the colors associated with them. 


Post comments (0)

Shop is in view mode
View full version of the site

Copyright © 2019, SOUL By Sowmya

Ecommerce Software